About Us

First Craven Sanitary District is a federally funded Sanitary District government created and established by the North Carolina Commission for Health Services, Department of Human Resources on May 6, 1978. The water system first produced water on November 3, 1982, and currently serves approximately 2,450 accounts. The Sanitary District boundaries include all of Township 2 of Craven County except for the Fairfield Harbor Community. First Craven relies solely on revenue generated from water sales.  At present, the staff consists of 4 full-time employees. First Craven Sanitary District is governed by the Sanitary District Board of Directors. The five members are elected by the residents of the community during the public elections every odd year, and serve 4-year terms.